#TBLTChat 3: Pretasks and supporting tasks

This was a tiny chat, a mere 26 tweets, a mere 5 tweeters including me. Perhaps holiday times/start of the term are not conducive to Twitter chats. Who knows?

Anyhow.

Anthony Ash (@Ashowski) asked what a pretask was, which Sarah Priestly (@Sarah_TTrainer) said was a way to prime learners with task roles, pronunciation focus, etc. I said it was a way to activate schema.

I (@getgreatenglish) expressed my love for brainstorming and classifying as a pretask, using Venn diagrams and Carroll diagrams. Gemma Lunn (@GemL1) also talked about brainstorming especially with word classes/parts of speech. I also like puzzles and others agreed, with Sarah talking about jigsaw pictures.

Maite Garcia (@maitegarcia210) talked about giving her learners authentic dialogues to listen to and or read. I talked about this in relation to Skehan et al (which should have been Foster and Skehan [1996], sorry) on task rehearsal. I also said I’m wary about putting words in learners’ mouths by limiting inauthentic dialogues.

Some links that were mentioned

A family tree puzzle task by Marc Jones (me).

More icebreakers for the ELT classroom by Rachel Roberts (via Sarah Priestly)

Foster and Skehan on Task Repetition (not Open Access)

About Marc

I teach in Tokyo.
This entry was posted in Transcript and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

